Testimonials

 

RETREAT GUEST TESTIMONIALS

“We spent this past weekend in total bliss, at Sugar Ridge Retreat, and had the time of our lives…” read the full article here  – The Compassion Experiment

  • 5 star review  Just did the juice and soup week. Feeling lighter, rested and ready to face life. Things to do: (or not) yoga, meditation, forest walks, discussions about food and nutrition, opportunty to learn in the kitchen. Liz, Kurt and staff: thank you.

    thumb Kelly Pronyk
    3/04/2018

    5 star review  Stayed back in December and was my first retreat and loved it. I ordered the cookbook as the food was amazing. Just made the ‘famous’ rice bowl with teriyaki gravy....it was very good but I didn’t master it like Kurt!

    thumb Crystal Walker-Bendelac
    2/21/2018
  • 5 star review  I truly enjoyed my stay at Sugar Ridge. Facilities were clean and amazing. Food was great. Staff was very friendly. I'd definitely recommend this place for those wanting to get away from the city and/or those going on a retreat. Worth every penny!

    thumb Mark Lalonde
    2/19/2018

    5 star review  I just returned from another amazing Sugar Ridge Yoga/Mediation/Ski Retreat. The first time I went was May long weekend 2017. I loved it so much I stayed an extra day. This time was even more perfect! The snow was light and falling softly most of the time I was there. Which was perfect because I got out skiing at Wye Marsh and snowshoeing on their beautiful property over looking Georgian Bay Marsh. This place really does feel like home. The cabins and bed are superbly comfortable. Liz is a kind and caring facilitator with a quirky sense of humour and she is deeply knowledgeable in all aspects of yoga and mediation and just life in general! Kurt, although I didn't see much of him, I know he is in the background doing what he does best! They are there for their guests 100%! The food is amazingly delicious!!. Everything just tastes so good and they are so accommodating on food issues. I am very happy they came out with a cook book. Now I have their secrets in one perfect book! I also, went on a Yoga Retreat with Liz in September 2017 to Morocco! It was such an incredible trip. Liz chose the best places and everything was organized to the T! I am planning on going on one of her next ones too! I left Sugar Ridge just 24 hours ago and I can't wait to go back. I must try all 4 seasons. Although I don't think I can ever top winter! Thank YOU so much Liz and Kurt ~ <3 Namaste <3

    thumb Leah-Jo Mercer
    2/05/2018
  • 5 star review  Thank you to Liz and her incredible staff for the amazing experience at your centre. Ellen, Marg, and I felt completely supported hosting KIND Yoga By Heart's retreat at your centre. Everything from the cozy beds, to the nature trails AND the incredible food and friendly and service oriented staff. Thank you. We will be back.

    thumb Tina Ad
    1/22/2018

    5 star review  My first yoga retreat was everything and more that I expected it to be. Peaceful, meditative, welcoming and invigorating. Thanks to Liz and Kurt and all their staff for an unforgettable experience. Would recommend this place to any and all who want a weekend away from it all.

    thumb Carolyn Stekar
    1/15/2018
  • 5 star review  Serene. Delicious. Cozy. Fun. Peaceful. Joyous. Heart opening. Soul feeding. Body energizing. Appreciative thankfulness for Liz Kurt Sam Steve Shauna? As well as all the wild and wonderful women joiners.

    thumb Debbie Roberts
    1/15/2018

    5 star review  An amazing relaxing weekend- left with lots to think about and a thirst to learn more. Thank you

    thumb Robin Mehain Paulsen
    1/15/2018
  • 5 star review  Liz, Kurt and their team (both two and four-legged) are lovely, beautiful people. I’m so glad I visited and will definitely be back. Highly recommend!

    thumb Gillian Fahy
    1/06/2018

    5 star review  Liz and Kurt along with their dedicated staff create a memorable experience for guests staying at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre. Liz is a gifted teacher and facilitator offering the right balance of structure and flexibility for a personal experience away. I felt nurtured and enriched both mentally and physically. The property is easy to get to and offers quiet private time. Kudos on delivering exceptional meals! I can't wait for the cookbook to be released.

    thumb Roger Ali
    11/27/2017
  • 4 star review  This is a great place to rest, eat well, beautiful yoga studio, walk in the magnificent woods and sleep in a cozy cabin.

    thumb Stephen LaughingBoy Hudecki
    11/23/2017

    5 star review  Lovely spot for a retreat, walking trails, cozy cabins, lovely group space and delicious healthy meals! Felt right at home!

    thumb Krow Fischer
    11/17/2017
  • 5 star review  The physical space was beautiful and comfortable. The staff is welcoming and the food is thoughtfully prepared with care and attention to flavour.

    thumb Heather Katz
    11/13/2017

    5 star review  This was a life changing experience for me. It was exactly what I needed and I recommend to anyone. I will be back!

    thumb Nat D.
    8/14/2017

RETREAT FACILITATOR TESTIMONIALS

“Set amidst the best parts of the Ontario landscape – the Wye Marsh, a sugar bush, open meadows – Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre offers a perfect place for short and long terms retreats. I have taught both short yoga workshops and silent meditation retreats in this peaceful setting. Supported by sensitive staff, a stellar practice hall, and brand-new architectural straw bale cabins, this is a perfect place for retreat.”
Michael Stone | Psychotherapist, Author and Director of Centre of Gravity Sangha

“Caroline Owen and I delivered our trauma-informed yoga training at Sugar Ridge in October 2015, and we were very impressed at the level of professionalism and customer service, the quality of the facilities, and excellent meals delivered on behalf of Liz and her team. From the time we booked the facility, through the student registration process, to the very end of our workshop, we were provided with ample support, guidance and warm hospitality, making the whole venture very straightforward and easeful. The organic, cozy feel of the buildings, beautiful natural setting, and resident dogs really contributed to the welcoming atmosphere. Sugar Ridge felt like “home” for those 4 days, and I look forward to the possibility of delivering further workshops at this wonderfully peaceful, all-inclusive getaway venue.
– Sarah Schlote | Psychotherapist and Trauma Specialist, Trauma Informed Yoga

“What can I say to describe our experience up at Sugar Ridge?  There are not many retreat centres in Ontario that can support our requirements for the Moksha Yoga Level 2 Teacher Training, and even fewer that meet our expectations for eco-friendliness.  Liz and her family are not only eco-friendly, but people-friendly too, and showed us the most gracious and generous hospitality. Oh, and the food… The food was unbelievably nourishing and yummy – it meant a lot to us that the food used was organic where possible and vegetarian, and added to our experience greatly. What else? Beautiful grounds to hike through or practice walking meditation, cozy, cozy cabins to retreat to after a day of study and fun, and did I mention yummy food?!?! Again, we are quite particular as to where we have our teacher training programs, and we couldn’t have been more happy with Sugar Ridge.” 
Ted Grand | Yoga Teacher and Creator of Moksha Yoga

“The overwhelming response from our students and both Scott and I is so positive: in every way, you exhibited kindness, hospitality, and care. I especially loved the yoga studio; it was a pleasure teaching in that space. I would unequivocally recommend Sugar Ridge to anyone looking for a place to hold a retreat.” 
Pat Harada-Linfoot | Yoga Teacher and Owner, Octopus Garden Yoga Centre


CORPORATE MEETING TESTIMONIALS

“We are all still talking about our weekend and the experience. The girls loved everything – even the work part!! The drumming was a perfect ending, as the yoga was the perfect beginning to our day. We cried and we laughed. It was truly wonderful.”  Barbara Jones | Broker and Owner, The Cooperators General Insurance

Have you had a great experience at Sugar Ridge that you’d like to share? Write your own review or read more on Trip Advisor.