forest bathing

Meditation Retreats

We host meditation retreats all year! 
From completely silent to dip your toe, testing mindfulness,
we have what you’re looking for!

At Sugar Ridge, quality time means me time.

A wise teacher, and a wise centre, needs to offer a whole range of skillful practices, because people come along at different stages of their inner development, with different temperaments, and with different sets of problems.
-Jack Kornfield

Mindfulness has a host of physical benefits, and it causes people to become nicer, improves mood and concentration, and find joy in the littlest of things in life.  Who doesn’t need more of that?

There are hundreds of meditation techniques and many ways to improve mindfulness as you go about your day to day activities.  No need to sit cross-legged on the floor or have your mind be a blank slate.  Our retreats offer a sampling of many techniques so that you can see what works for you and let go of the rest. 

We offer a variety of retreat schedules and formats so you can choose what will work for your schedule and your comfort.  Some people are nervous to be in silence and want a more social retreat, whereas others want extended silence to work through a deeper issue.  Both are valuable and you may find them helpful at different times.

The following list of retreats categorizes them by type of retreat, length of stay and retreat content.

One Day Meditation Workshops

A longer getaway isn’t always possible, so we offer day-long workshops.
Usually, from 9 – 4ish and includes a yummy lunch. 

Here’s a list of those that have a focus on mindfulness and meditation:

 

 

 

 
   
   
   
   

                                                            

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weekend Meditation Retreats 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mindful Self Compassion – A Weekend Retreat

Fri, Jul 3 – Sun, Jul 5, 2020

 

Yoga, Canoe & Hike – The Essential Summer Retreat

Fri, Jul 24 – Sun, Jul 26, 2020

 

 

Get Your Glow On! Yoga Retreat

Fri, Jul 31 – Mon, Aug 3, 2020

 

Rebalance Weekend Retreat

Fri, Aug 21 – Sun, Aug 23, 2020

Sacred Journey Retreat with Liz Frost & Friends

Fri, Sep 4 – Mon, Sep 7, 2020

Thanksgiving Yoga and Meditation Retreat with Liz Frost

Fri, Oct 9 – Mon, Oct 12, 2020

 

Rebalance Weekend Retreat

Fri, Nov 13 – Sun, Nov 15, 2020

First Light Yoga and Meditation Retreat with Liz Frost    

Fri, Nov 20 – Sun, Nov 22, 2020

First Light Yoga and Meditation Retreat with Liz Frost    

Fri, Nov 27 – Sun, Nov 29, 2020

First Light Yoga and Meditation Retreat with Liz Frost

Fri, Dec 4 – Sun, Dec 6, 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

Week Long Retreats

 

Longer retreats offer a deeper immersion into practice. Silent Week long retreats are held in September, December and over Easter every year.  Choose from 2 – 7 nights stay.  Everyone starts together at the beginning of the retreat and you leave after 2, 5 or 7 nights as you wish.  Being in silence isn’t oppressive, it’s a gift we give to ourselves and to each other.  Having precious time to think and reflect is a wonderful gift to yourself.  The schedule is the same every day, allowing you to rest into the format and observe yourself as you move through the day.  Noticing your reactions to moments can be fascinating, and it’s an opportunity for growth.  As you notice your reactions you build self-awareness

 

Upcoming Silent Retreats

 

 

 

 

Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction

This is a wonderful introduction to using meditation as a stress reduction technique. We offer it as a week-long intensive program. Side effects include inner peace, ditching stress, personal growth, mental calmness and improvement with mood. This week is offered three times a year with upcoming dates of:

Create Your Escape!

This retreat is an opportunity for you to create whatever you need.  For some that may mean doing something different every day in the area and for others it can mean parking the car, and not going anywhere, or you can have a few days of both.  Park the car and chill for a couple days and then venture out to explore the area.. 

 

Summer Retreat with Beach Time – Escape the City!

Mon, Aug 3 – Fri, Aug 7, 2020

Summer Retreat with Yoga, Meditation & Beach Time – Escape the City!

Mon, Aug 10 – Fri, Aug 14, 2020

Summer Retreat with Yoga, Meditation & Beach Time – Escape the City!

Mon, Aug 17 – Fri, Aug 21, 2020

 

Autumn Retreat with Yoga, Meditation & Quiet Time – Escape the City!

Sun, Sep 13 – Thu, Sep 17, 2020

 

Winter Holiday Getaway

Fri, Dec 18 – Wed, Dec 23, 2020

Winter Holiday Getaway

Sat, Dec 26 – Sat, Jan 2, 2021

Meet Your Facilitator!

Liz Frost

Liz Frost

Liz Frost, founder of Sugar Ridge shares mindfulness in every retreat she facilitates. Some have a bit more formal practice than others.  Often outdoor or offsite activities are included depending on the season or theme of the retreat.  Yoga is taught as a form of meditation, getting in tune with the physical body and noticing connections between emotion and mental states.